Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

X axis not square with the Y axis

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Chris Crabtree, Oct 6, 2021.

1. Chris Crabtree

Builder

Good afternoon all, curious to know if others have ran into this and what they did/steps taken to resolve the issue. My C beams ( I think that is the correct term) are not square with one another i.e. top and bottom beams not square to one another. In addition to this is it causing my X axis to not be square with Y axis. To make matters more complicated the squareness, or lack there of, seems to vary based upon the position router/Z axis. I've went so far as to disassemble my Z and X axis and re-assemble trying to pay specialty attention to everything/as much as I can however with no success. I've not dug into traming my router yet so I don't know if that is the problem, any suggestions on way to tram that have worked for you are very appreciated as I'm very new to the world of CNC. Machine is a 1515 and if additional information will help let me know. I've added a couple of pictures to illustrate what is happening, one represents the C beams not square to one another, the second illustrating X and Y not square with one another.

Attached Files:

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Either your Z uprights are installed at an angle onto the Y plates (square them up against the Y axis beams as reference) or the corner brackets part of the install holding the X rails against the uprights needs some adjustment to bring that back into square. Always harder to adjust after the fact, easier to build it square as you go along. May need some disassembly to bring it back into alignment - they should be on the same plane, and perfectly perpendicular to your Y axis.

#2 Peter Van Der Walt, Oct 6, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2021
  3. Chris Crabtree

Builder