Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Super Beginner

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by Robert-Lee, Dec 17, 2020.

1. Robert-Lee

Builder

Good morning everyone!
    A super green beginner here. Opinions:
    Fusion360 or V-Carve Pro? Why?

Thanks in advance!

2. Peter Van Der Walt

Peter Van Der Walt OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Giarc and sharmstr like this.
  3. Robert-Lee

Builder

4. Giarc

Giarc OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

Just to complicate things, I use both. I use Vcarve for doing 3D carving of models I find on Thingiverse and on rotary carved objects. I use Fusion360 for making parts for things I am building. To confuse this subject even more, I use Fusion 360 to create cylindrical objects that I then save as an .stl file which I import into Vcarve to create the Gcode to be cut on the lathe. They can work hand in hand.

Vcarve makes artistic things like sign making and carving of 3D objects you design, or of files you purchase real easy. Vectric also publishes a lot of neat projects you can do and they provide the files for free, but only if you have a license because you have to log in to get access to them. You can also use Vectric for designing things like the sides of cabinets and other "2.5D" objects. Vectric makes generating tool paths the easiest of any of the CAM software I have used. The nice thing about the Vectric products are that you could buy one product from them and then upgrade to a more premium version and your original expense is credited towards your upgrade. For example, you would be out no money if you tried Vcarve Desktop and then decided to upgrade to Vcarve Pro.

Fusion 360 is free for hobbyists so you can try it at no expense to you and continue to use it whenever you want.