Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Openbuilds Control - Macro - Homing + G28

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Eimantas, Mar 16, 2024.

1. Eimantas

Eimantas New
    Builder

Hello all,

I am new to this whole CNC thing and would like to clarify some things:

I have setup homing on my workbee with hard limit switches, this works fine
    I have made (with alot of frustration, only to figure out later that control has spoilboard surfacing wizard) a spoilboard with some fences to keep my workpiece parallel in XY.

now that i have a set starting point between 2 fences, usually i will only need to set zero on Z axis.
    my next thought is that after homing i could move XY to the set location using G28, something like G28 G91 X162.1 Y-658.31 Z0.0)

Can i write a macro for this or is there alternative (better) methods to do this?

Can i implement Z probe action into the macro? is this smart to do?

the sequence of actions im looking for is : Home -> G28 to my work starting location -> probe Z

Thanks for any tips!

2. Alex Chambers

Alex Chambers Master
    Moderator Builder

I avoid using G28 - there is an easier way once you have set a workplace coordinate system (wcs) zero.
    G90
    G53 G0 Z-10
    G0 X0 Y0

Absolute coordinates
    Raise Z (in machine coordinates system) to just below limit switch
    Move to X zero Y zero in the current wcs.

Alex.

Peter Van Der Walt likes this.
  3. Eimantas

Eimantas New
    Builder

Thanks for the input Alex!

I am having some trouble trying to set this up.

After performing $H my work coordinates seem to behave not exactly as i would expect. i.e

Sometimes it would set the WCS to -5 , other times it does not (in this example it set YZ to -5 and did not do it on X?)

when i get this doing a G0 X0 Y0 would just hit the limit switches on both axis (or in this example limit switch on Y and gantry on X) rather than go to the location i want.