Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Milling wing leading ed

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Duncan Meyer, Oct 8, 2020.

1. Duncan Meyer

Builder

Hi,
    I'm pretty new to cnc (started on the Lowrider, and migrated to the 1515 Workbee, which is still being built).

Question:
    I'm building a single seat airplane, cutting all the parts out of 18mm plywood. The wings, however, are 1.5mm ply sheets over 20mm blue foam cut on the router. Here's my problem: The plywood is only 1200 wide, so I have to use one sheet for the top and one sheet for the bottom. The trailing edge presents no problem, but how to join the leading edge? Here's what I have come up with:

Wing leading edge proposal.jpg So I guess what I'm wanting to know is can my Workbee "carve" this leading edge piece out of a 20mm thick (1.3m long) piece of Spruce? And if so, what bits, feeds/speeds etc

Duncan

2. Kevon Ritter

Kevon Ritter Veteran
    Builder

Instead of leaving the LE spar bare, you should wrap the ply all the way around. By doing that, you can stick with just ribs and have a basic leading edge spar instead of a profile. It would also be more consistent and will require less finishing.

3. Duncan Meyer

Builder

Ideally, yes. The wing has a chord of 1200mm, so definitely two sheets required to cover both surfaces. I considered wrapping ply from the spar, forwards around the leading edge and back to the spar again. But experimenting with this, I found the ply too ready to split at the leading edge. So I was just trying to find a way to avoid this. Perhaps I should cut some male molds, and wet/bend the ply first?

Duncan

4. Rob Taylor

Rob Taylor Master
    Builder

The way it is in the picture has worked for decades for model aircraft- a hardwood LE butted against by balsa sheet for the surfaces. Whether that translates to full scale airframes, I'm not sure, but I imagine it should.