Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Looking for guidance on what controller board to get.

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by broken85, Jan 26, 2022.

1. broken85

broken85 New
    Builder

Greetings Wise CNC Gurus,

I have been building a CNC machine off and on for a few years now. I have dusted it off and am back to finishing the build.

I originally got a planet-cnc usb controller that worked fine to make the motors spin on my bench. but it is no longer supported. I would like to get a board that is compatible with the openbuilds software but i am not ready to get the blackbox controller. I would like to get my feet wet with my MDF cut with a Jigsaw build before moving up to the big leagues.

What stepper motor controller would you suggest. I would like to have a USB connected board.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to sharing my build once it is making sawdust.

2. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

If you already have a set of drivers you can make do with an Arduino to control them. If you don't already have a decent set of drivers you might as well spring for a BlackBox as the total of the Arduino plus a decent set of drivers is pretty far into the price of just getting a BlackBox which is far more bulletproof and user friendly.

3. broken85

broken85 New
    Builder

4. Rick 2.0

Rick 2.0 OpenBuilds Team

Wrong type of board. You need a $175 software package to run it.

Dig around the forum a little you'll find plenty of examples of how to use the Arduino. And BTW, if you do go Arduino buy a genuine Arduino. The clones can have issues with throughput.

5. Gary Caruso

Gary Caruso OpenBuilds Volunteer
    Staff Member Moderator Builder