Welcome to Our Community

Some features disabled for guests. Register Today.

Advice needed: Shaping an airplane rudder

Discussion in 'CNC Mills/Routers' started by Duncan Meyer, Jan 28, 2021.

1. Duncan Meyer

Builder

Hi,
    I'm trying to shape an airplane fin and rudder.

In the main picture below are three elements: the leading edge, the fin itself, and the rudder.
    The (yellow) leading edge is a 32mm square piece of Hoop Pine, shaped as follows:

upload_2021-1-28_16-16-38.png
    Basically, I need to remove the 1.5mm recesses - this is to accommodate the 1.5mm plywood skins for a flush fit.

Next I need to round the leading edge (round-over bit?)

The vertical fin doesn't present any problems - it is cut from a single piece of 32mm plywood.

The rudder portion, however, needs to taper from 32mm at the leading edge to 10mm at the trailing edge. Like this...

upload_2021-1-28_16-21-19.png

How does one shave off the yellow bit and then the blue bit? I've never done this before. The rudder is also initially a single piece of 32mm ply, which gets "shaped" and then the cutouts are added (subtracted?) afterwards.
    upload_2021-1-28_16-15-8.png
    So, as you can see - two issues:
    (1) How to cut the leading edge from a square 32mm x 32mm strip of Hoop Pine
    (2) How to "shape" the piece of 32mm ply which will become the rudder

Any help anyone can provide would be very welcome.

Regards,
    Duncan

Attached Files:

2. David the swarfer

David the swarfer OpenBuilds Team
    Staff Member Moderator Builder Resident Builder

I would do the leading edge with a router in a router table. recesses first, roundovers last, and might even use 32x64mm strip and saw it in half after the routing.